Call Now


First General Assembly of District Level Organizational Network SuREN

  • Home
  • News
  • First General Assembly of District Level Organizational Network SuREN

First General Assembly of District Level Organizational Network SuREN

  • 9th Dec, 2013

First General Assembly of District Level Organizational Network SuREN

As per Sahas Nepal strategic plan of putting people at the center of development, it has been continuously supporting in process of forming Ilaka level organizational network representing group and central committee.

During this process it has formed a network of Gramin Mahila Jagaran Samuha (GMJS), Likhu Demba Community Development Forum, Kotgadhi Shikhar Samaj (KOSIS) Nepal, Sunkosi Kakani Community Development Forum and Pragatishil Yathartha Society Nepal in Okhaldhunga district and they are already engaged in community development works in the district.

Henceforth, with an objective to strengthen the organizational network “Sustainable Rural Empowerment Network” (SUREN) has been formed. This organization will give continuity in organizational development and working together for district development. On the initiation of SAHAS-Nepal the first general assembly of this organization was held at DDC Conference Hall of Okhaldhunga on 8 December 2013.

The general assembly was chaired by Mr. Duryodhan Rai (Chairman of RENSD), chief guest of the program was Mr. Ganesh Bahadur Katwal (PME Officer DDC Okhaldhunga) and Dr. Surendra Kumar Shrestha (Executive Director- SAHAS Nepal) was the chairperson to the event. There were about 460 delegates who participated in the general assembly representing various political parties, Officials from GOs and NGOs, media personals, and members of Group, Central Committee and organizational network.

In the opening session of the general assembly, the member organizations presented their profile along with their progress report. The speakers at the event appreciated the organizations for their contribution and Dr. Shrestha acknowledged participants for their participation and ensure about the continuation of support in the future too. The event was live broadcasted by Aafno FM 104.8 Mhz and the Emcee of the program was Mr. Tanka Gautam (Program Coordinator Okhaldhunga- SAHAS Nepal).

Whereas during closed session the participants were informed about the completed projects.  Similarly, the general assembly members gave approval to the new projects. In addition to this, a project working committee was formed comprising of 11 members. The list of members is as follows:

Chairman: Mr. Duryodhan Rai

Deputy Chairman- Mr. Kamal Krishna Tamang

Secretary: Mr. Pesal Kumar Adhikari

Treasurer: Ms. Meera Dahal

Deputy Secretary: Mr. Dhan Bahadur Magar

Members: Ms. Amamta Rai, Ms. Hem Kumari Tamang, Mr. Lok Bahadur Sunuwar, Ms. Muna Shrestha, Ms. Yam Kumari BK and Mr. Hem Kumar Ghimirey